Skip to main content

Our Vote is for Only Three

There’s a tremendous opportunity to shift the current balance of power on our Select Board by voting for incumbents Erin Noonan and Alexa Singer (in addition to Bret Murray). After a string of 3-2 decisions over the past many months, Noonan and Singer remain in the minority on virtually every vote that long-term incumbents perceive as too great a change or not “how we do it” here in Marblehead. The most recent majority decision of the board is indicative of this 3-2 conflict, with Noonan and Singer the only two members favoring granting the sole remaining liquor license to an established brew pub looking to expand into Marblehead, arguably bringing increased traffic, variety, and vitality to the downtown. Their fresh, well-articulated arguments in favor of the tap room were in stark contrast to the rigid majority. 


But this is no surprise. Meeting after meeting, Noonan and Singer continue to try to encourage full board discussion, bring alternate viewpoints and new revenue streams to the table for consideration, and look to understand the rationale behind processes in order to properly evaluate board initiatives. Unfortunately, they have been met with a spectrum of opposition ranging from outright dismissiveness to awkward silence. We appreciate that they soldier on, committed to asking why and questioning the status quo, not simply for sport, or due to a lack of respect for the tenured service of their fellow board members, but because they have eyes wide open about the current challenges facing our town and are trying to spark conversation and public deliberation on creative problem-solving. 


Murray attempted the same when he held a board seat years ago, but having also been in the minority, was unable to move the needle on change. Yet together, these three, smart, informed, and passionate candidates are willing to be more agile, more open, more communicative, and more responsive to the myriad viewpoints and experiences of this community in their decision-making, not to guarantee a “new” majority voting bloc, but to facilitate and encourage real dialogue about what this community values and how to support and sustain those priorities.


We have much respect for the many years of service represented on the board, but it’s time to see what newer, more forward-thinking candidates can achieve by working together. Vote Noonan, Singer, and Murray on June 20. 


Jamie & Meredith Tedford – Harvard St

Jerry & Holly O’Neill – Orchard St

Jill Jacobson – William Road

John & Hether Danforth – Gregory St

Dave & Lauren Kennedy – Goldthwait Rd

Kathy Hempel - Palmer Ave

Andrew &Tinabeth Burton – Harbor Ave

Mark & Kelly Keaney – Roosevelt Ave

Darcy Mayers – Neptune Road

Rob & Kim Day – Liberty Road

Jeff & Kiki Walker – Batchelder Road

Mike & Alexia Kearney – Gregory St

Mary Kim Koch – Clifton Ave

Bill & Renee Keaney - Beverly Ave

Sean & Kelly Lorenz - Cedar St

Suzanne Atwood – Casino Road

Frank Kashner – Pickwick Road

Thomas Londer – Rowland St

Jenn Martelli – Ruby Ave

Lynn Nadeau – Surf St

Carolyn Ryan – Casino Road

Lesley Tracy – Green St

Linda McGlaughlin – Casino Road

Jeanne Lamkin – Devereux St

Steve Levy – Sagamore Road